So, the last few days in Cuzco, after the hike and before our long red-eye journey home, we were looking for something to do.  So, me, Tom, and our friend S all decided, why not go white water rafting?  I had gone rafting with my parents long ago (on the Salmon River in Idaho, for a week), so I was an old pro at this.  Tom, on the other hand, had never gone.  And I must say, even though I’d done this before, I had never had to jump from one side of the raft to the other – that was decidedly a new experience.

Anyway, thanks to the waterproof/shockproof digital camera Tom had given me some years ago (which I also have to thank for some awesome pictures in Greece), we were able to get some great shots on the river.  Unfortunately I don’t have pictures from the amazing meal they fed us (seriously, these were some great meals!), but I’m fairly certain it involved avocado and the most delicious bread in the area surrounding Cuzco.  So, without further ado, here are some pictures from our white water rafting adventure!

Tom jumping off the edge:

And, for good measure, here’s a picture of our friend S from our trek also jumping off the rock:

Tom on the river:

Me after traversing the rocks (and narrowly avoiding the class 4 rapids to the right).

Tom and Lauren together having conquered the river:

Thanks for reading!  Look for a new post tomorrow.  -L

