Sorry for the short (and late) post today, but I had a pressing deadline that needed tending to.  Anyway, I didn’t include this in the last Cuzco post, but this was a very important (and mysterious) part of my trip to Peru.  Important because all the guidebooks and wikitravel articles talked about this and there are pictures of people posing with it all over the internet.  Mysterious because I could not find a single page on the internet that explained its significance.

So, this is the 12-sided rock.  I faintly recall our guide on our hike, Joelle, explaining that 12 was a sacred number that meant “perfection,” so this rock was meant to represent perfection.  On the internet, I found that it was an example of the amazing architectural abilities of the Inca and this wall was once a part of an Incan palace.  The Incan walls in Peru were pretty amazing and made without mortar.  In fact, if you compare Incan-built walls and Spanish-built walls side-by-side, you see just how amazing the Incan walls really are.  I think I said this before, but after the earthquake in 1650 and the one in 1950 (they seem to have earthquakes every 300 years, by the way) most of what remained was the Incan buildings while the Spanish-built architecture completely fell apart.

Anyway, here’s me with the 12-sided stone:

Get ready, tomorrow’s post should have more great pictures.  I’ve been thinking about posting about my trip to Greece in 2010 for a while, so it may be time.  If you want a comprehensive list of my travel posts, I recommend visiting my newly-finished page Travel Posts, which is also at the top of the page next to my “About” page.

Until tomorrow…  Lauren

