Back in 2009, I took a solo trip around France, specifically Paris and the south of France.  Today, I will be sharing some of my pictures from Avignon, the town with that famous bridge.  Anyway, I start out with the gates of the city, which give it a very medieval look from the very start:

The city also has a long religious history, as it was the seat of the papacy during the 1300’s.  Below is from inside the Palais des Papes, or the Palace of the Popes:

And… the bridge!  The Pont Saint-Bénezet was built in the 1100’s as a full bridge that spanned the Rhone, but flooding and constant rebuilding eventually led them to give up on it and leave it half-built, like you can see in this picture:

There is a song called “Sur le pont d’Avignon,” which is about this same bridge.  And since it says to dance on the bridge, I did just that:

 

Well, that’s all for Avignon!

