20111207-183410.jpgThis weekend, me and Tom went to Vegas, as I alluded to in my last post. We went for two days, during which we saw my cousins and other marathoners, went to the “O” Cirque du Soleil show, gambled a bit, hung out in our own jacuzzi(!), ate a delicious breakfast, got bottle service at one of the hottest clubs in Vegas, and strolled down the Venetian canals.

We stayed at the Monte Carlo, one of the classic hotels on the strip.  It was pretty nice and allowed us to easily get to both the Bellagio and the relatively new Aria.  At the Bellagio, we saw this pretty winter display and had to get some pictures of the Christmas tree.

20111207-183358.jpg

This weekend was also the first Rock and Roll Marathon at night, so there was a huge crowd in town.  My cousins just so happened to be running in it, but it was impossible to find anyone.  There were 45,000 runners, after all…  But I took a picture of the runners even if I knew my cousin wouldn’t be among the ones pictured.

20111207-183425.jpg

Now, on to Tom gambling.  After a harrowing defeat at Paigow (I’m just glad I didn’t play, everyone at our table got massacred by the house), Tom tried his luck at Texas Hold Em.  Against the dealer.  With weird betting rules.  Whatever, he did awesome and ended up a couple hundred in the black.  So of course I made him take this “money shot” – literally.

20111207-183443.jpg

So, as you can see from the picture, he is one happy kid.

Anyway, like I said above, we walked along some Venetian canals.  That’s because the Venetian hotel has canals in it!  So, of course I had to recreate my picture from our 2006 trip to Europe when we actually were in Venice.  Wow, I look so young…  And I’m wearing a jean skirt, yikes!  Anyway, this time it was much colder (hence the heavy coat) and I was much classier.  You can even see a gondolier in the background.

And, finally, we have the strip.  We took this one on our last night there on our way back to the hotel for the last time.  Viva Las Vegas!

20111207-183513.jpg

