This post comes a bit late, since I think we made latkes almost 2 weeks ago.  However, I think it’s never too late to think about food…

Anyway, I made these during this past Hanukkah.  For those that don’t know about latkes, otherwise known as potato pancakes or levivot in Hebrew, they are traditionally made during Hanukkah, the festival of lights, to commemorate a miracle of energy efficiency (as I like to say, it’s the green holiday).  Anyway, after the Maccabees fought off some Greeks and stuff got destroyed, they were all happy until they figured out someone spilled the oil.  They had to keep the temple’s nightlight – er eternal flame – going (it’s eternal and all…), and the oil was only enough for one night and it was gonna be like a week before they could get more, so this was problematic.  But they lit it anyway and thankfully it was miracle oil and it stayed lit for eight nights.  Hurray!  For a much better version of this story, see the Rugrats Hanukkah special.  Or the Passover special, that was especially good.

This whole oil thing ends up being awesome for us because we’re basically told to fry stuff in oil for eight nights.  I got this recipe from smitten kitchen (again) because I couldn’t find the one from my mom.  But it’s basically this: shred some potatoes and wring them out really well; mix in some egg, onions, salt, and pepper; heat up some vegetable oil in a skillet and start dropping in the mix.  Delicious.

20111229-001321.jpg

Then I decided that because I hadn’t made enough food in the recent past, there should be some homemade applesauce and dill and horseradish sour cream.  Basically took the latkes to a different level.

20111229-001328.jpg

The horseradish part wasn’t really intentional, but I had some fresh horseradish root in my CSA earlier that week, so it just kind of worked.  By the way, for those who haven’t grated horseradish, it’s way worse than onion.  I highly recommend getting someone else to do it or wearing goggles.  I did neither and was crying while watching something like The League on Netflix.  Can’t wait until the Sukkah episode is up…

‘Til next time…

