Hello readers,

Today I’m not going to post about my travel, cooking, or crafting adventures.  And if you go to my site, you’ll see that you can’t even read it.  I’m doing this to show my disagreement to the proposed the SOPA (Stop Online Piracy Act) and PIPA (PROTECT IP Act) bills that are currently on the floor of the house of representatives.  Many popular sites across the web, from Wikipedia to Postsecret are joining the fight by showing just how much of a negative effect laws like these would have on their sites.  They might have been well-intentioned, trying to protect copyright holders, but they would put those responsibilities in the hands of sites that host with copyright infringements, which would cripple many sites, especially those with user-uploaded content (think Youtube or even WordPress, who hosts my site), “placing the responsibility for detecting and policing infringement onto the site itself” (from the wikipedia article).  If you think about it, I could not have this free site if these were enacted because wordpress would probably need to put so many safeguards in that free blog hosting would quickly be a thing of the past.  So, if you like my blog or any of the websites I’ve named, plus any other sites that use user-uploaded content, please consider signing the petition on google or elsewhere.  This law really does a disservice to the online community and could lead to a ton of online censorship in the future.  Thanks and see you tomorrow for my next post!

Lauren

