Hello Internet,

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned much about my research on Central Illinois (well, except here and here), but a big part of my research is interviewing a lot of people.  And part of my ethical responsibility is to protect their identities.  Sometimes it’s pretty impossible to not point to a specific individual (like if I mention a restaurant I went to and they work there or if the town only has a few hundred residents total), but I do my best to not transcribe parts that say their family members’ names or their place of work.  I give them all pseudonyms (some I even let pick their own), but I have to say, I am running out of first names, especially classic ones one would expect to find in the Prairie State.  Here are a couple examples of what I have so far: Fran, 70; Tim, 25; Karen, 33; Walt, 70; Virginia, 65.  So, I am asking you for more names.  These can be any names – male or female, old or young.  I only have a set of 26 people now whose members range from 18 to 89 years old (plus 4 more from interviews done in the 1990’s), but I will be getting much more one day, hopefully in the hundreds.  So, please, help a girl out!

Thanks!

