Happy Presidents Day!

I’ve been a little busy the last week. Mostly it was the realization I was moving, presenting at a conference for the first time, then defending my dissertation proposal in quick succession. Anyway, during these realizations, I decided it was time to go to the art store and get that x-acto knife I’ve been coveting for a while…  And take on an art project, specifically one I found on Apartment Therapy about making cut-out maps of cities and posting them on colored paper. So with a little bit of image manipulation, printing, and cutting, I did this:

20120220-123644.jpg

For those unfamiliar with DC (or who just can’t figure it out), this is a map of the metro system in DC. Took about an hour, maybe a little more, and I think it doesn’t look half bad. And the paper is tissue paper from a recent purchase at Anthropology (yeah, I should probably buy some paper…). Time to find more maps to cut out…