20120226-224351.jpgWelcome once again to Crafty Mondays!  Today I am paying homage to one of the great cooks of this century.  Of course I’m talking about the magnificent Julia Child.  One of my favorite presents (and 2 of the 3 cook books I own) is Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.  (In case you’re wondering, the other is Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian.)  Anyway, with all the moves and my newfound favorite food blog Smitten Kitchen, I haven’t yet opened up my Julia Child collection. Until today.

Given that I had grown a large collection of onions from my CSA, onion soup just made sense. And the academy awards (with Meryl Streep’s latest win for best actress, finally!) made me think of the master herself. For anyone who hasn’t seen Julie and Julia, see it just for Meryl’s portrayal of Julia Child. You won’t be disappointed, she really brought out everything I’ve heard about Julia.  And for those who really love Julia Child and are ever around DC, go to the Smithsonian’s American History Museum.  In the basement, they have Julia Child’s kitchen (yes, the one in the TV show) on display in the basement.  The only thing I have to say about that is damn, that was one tall woman.

Anyway, just to prove I’m not kidding about the sheer number of onions I was dealing with, here’s a picture of my onions (and the tiny bottle of cognac I was thankfully able to find).

20120226-224401.jpg

And in true Julia Child fashion, I’m skipping the hour of onion cooking and 40 minutes of broth defrosting and another 30 minutes of soup simmering to give you the final product. Here are the croûtes ready to float.

20120226-224514.jpg

And, finally, the soup with grated cheese on top. I’m happy to say it got rave reviews…

20120226-224525.jpg

See more of my culinary creations here.

