Welcome back everyone! Although this may end up being the only post this week, I just had to share this with you guys. The other night, I was hungry and in the mood for something different, extra points if it used our new oven or cast iron skillet. So, I looked around Smitten Kitchen a bit and found that I had all the necessary ingredients for a butternut squash and caramelized onion galette. Only instead of butternut squash I had the cutest little kobacha squash from my CSA and instead on making the crust by hand, I used a Trader Joe’s frozen pie crust. Worked out very well and I think saved me some time. But I digress.

So, I caramelized the onions as my skillet’s maiden voyage and I most say it turned out pretty good. Next time I’ll remember to use an oven mitt when handling it… No injuries, it was on pretty low heat and it was only warmer than I was expecting. But, after some roasting and caramelizing and rolling and using the beautiful oven above, I ended up with my galette!

20120319-225036.jpg

I quite enjoyed it and would highly recommend it. Yum! Ok, that’s it for Crafty Mondays this week, see you next time!

