Today’s post is a continuation of last Friday where I raved about all the delicious meats and Indian food I had for restaurant week in DC. This is the stunning conclusion, where I have a bowl made of vegetables and a meal of chocolate.

Well, the meal wasn’t quite all chocolate, but I’ll get there.

The first stop on this food journey was the Caucus Room, a new American restaurant in the heart of Penn Quarter. [Side note: does anyone know what “new American” means apart from upscale burgers?]

Anyway, for my appetizer, I got the risotto with summer squash and other vegetables. And I was quite surprised when I found that the bowl it came in was edible! Unfortunately, that was the best part of it. Also, unfortunately, I did not take a picture of my delicious hangar steak with truffle fries and rocket. Believe me when I say it wasn’t because I didn’t like the look of it. More like I couldn’t put my fork down for long enough… But I did regain my senses when dessert cane along and I got a shot of the delicious crème brûlée. Yum…

Next was Co Co Sala, a restaurant whose specialty is chocolate.  I think the first picture, our chocolate palate cleanser, speaks for itself.

20120822-184914.jpg

 

Next I had a version of a caprese salad, except the tomatoes were delicious heirloom tomatoes and the cheese was something else

20120822-184925.jpg

 

And here’s Tom, enjoying his summer peach salad.

 

I can never say no to a good crab cake, much less two.

 

And here’s the tiny truffle that came with Tom’s dessert.  It looked delicious…

 

And here’s the rest of Tom’s dessert, complete with two types of pineapple and coconut ice cream.

 

And finally, here’s us before our decadent meal.  Little did we know what we were getting ourselves into…  But I hope you enjoyed the saga of DC restaurant week!  Come back next Friday for more delicious goodies.

20120822-185015.jpg

