Today’s post is one that I’ve been planning for a while, and has absolutely nothing to do with Chicago or central Illinois (which is what most posts will end up being about this month).  It’s in fact from my trip in May to Israel.

One of the things that every Birthright group (and probably any group trip to Israel does) is go to Masada at sunrise.  Masada was this legendary last-stand type of battle story, where the residents were holed up and knew that there was no chance they were going to make it.  So, they all died together.  Yeah, I know, not the most uplifting story, but this place has some incredible views, so I forgive it, even though we had to wake up before the crack of dawn to see it.

So, enjoy these pictures.  I know I had fun taking them, despite the super early hour.

