Girard, IL, is one of those small towns that you could really call a small town – it used to mainly be a small farming town with coal mines nearby, and it still is a place where everyone knows everyone else.  And it’s one of the places I have gone so far on my roadtrip through central Illinois.  I’ll also get to Springfield and some of the other places I’ve been, but I thought I’d start with this small town I ventured through this week.  I met some great people there, but I should really start off with my favorite part of the town – their soda fountain.

Downtown Girard

Girard might not be known for many things, but I think it should be known for the flavored cokes at Doc’s because, well, they’re delicious.  And they’ll put any sort of flavoring in you want.  And free refills…  I got a chocolate coke first, then a vanilla.  Although my blood sugar definitely spiked after those both, they were just so good that I’ll be back for more.

So first, the old-fashioned soda fountain.

The old-fashioned soda fountain. I think this an original from the days this place was Deck’s Pharmacy.

And a close up on my chocolate coke.

I’ve never had a chocolate coke before, but it was delicious.

Mmm…  The town is surrounded by farmland, which I had to take a picture of for effect.

Farmland, as far as the eye can see.

Well, that’s about it for Girard.  Until next time…

