Today’s Foodie Friday is from my recent weekend in Chicago.  I’ll be covering more this weekend, but for now I wanted to cover the place that makes my favorite Chicago-style pizza: Gino’s East.

In my family’s lore is the story of what takeout my parents got after each kid was born.  For my sister, it was cheesecake, but for me, it was Gino’s East pizza.  So, you could say, I was born eating deep dish pizza…

For lunch my last day, I took the El over to their downtown location to get myself a slice.  Apparently they only have full pizzas, so I got the smallest size they had and managed to eat almost half.  In case you were wondering, I got sausage and it was delicious.  And a Gino’s East deep dish pizza with sausage means there is a layer of sausage in the pizza.  Let that sink in for a second: a layer of sausage.  Yeah.

 

Don’t you love the front of that building?  Mmm, pizza…

 

 

 

See you later this weekend, when I write about another fun part of my weekend in Chi-town!

 

 

 

 

