From the Rugrats Chanukah special, in its fourth season.

From the Rugrats Chanukah special, in its fourth season.

Today, as we find ourselves in between two holidays (Hanukkah, which ended less than a week ago, and Christmas, which starts in less than a week) and not at the apocalype, I have a belated Hanukkah present for you all: latkes! Or, if you prefer, levivot (Hebrew) or potato pancakes. Either way, they are fried potato and what’s better than that?

Because it is the festival of lights, and celebrates the energy efficiency of the oil used to light the eternal flame (it lasted for 8 days instead of just one), Hanukkah is traditionally celebrated by frying things in oil.  In Israel and for Jews living in other countries, donuts are the traditional food (which strangely enough makes me think of paczkis, the Polish donuts traditionally eaten on Fat Tuesday).  Anyway, last week, right before the end of the festival of lights, I decided it was high time to fry up some latkes of my own!

20121218-144428.jpg
I made these using this recipe from Smitten Kitchen and they came out wonderfully! I heated the oven to 300 degrees and left them in there while I was doing the others and I think it helped keep it crispy. Plus, I served it with crème fraîche and pumpkin butter, which really made them that much better. Enjoy! I know I did…
20121218-144437.jpg
And if you haven’t had enough Hanukkah at this point, here are my Hanukkah decorations, before the Christmas ones were added (we celebrate everything at my house) and the candles burning down on my menorah.
291848_10102109117278883_302184354_n

20121218-144546.jpg

Happy Holidays to all, and to all a good weekend!

