Today’s picture of the day comes from my trip to Beijing all the way back in 2008.  I did a little sightseeing on my own and one of the places I wrote about was Tienamen Square (and have a picture here).  I just now realize I have an entire post to do about Tienamen and another to do about the Forbidden City (at one end of Tienamen).

For today, however, I’ll leave you with a single picture of a statue I saw in the middle of Tienamen Square.  It’s called “Mao Leading the Chinese People’s Liberation Army” and it’s in front of Mao’s Mausoleum.  I had some trouble finding anything about it, as the other statue is more popular (it’s more about the revolution), but what I found most interesting about the statue is that many of the people didn’t look typically Chinese.  I’m not sure if that was intended, or if they mixed in the look of people from other areas of China, like the west or north, or if that’s just what happened.  Well, that’s the only commentary you’ll get from me, have a look for yourself:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

